School Logo


Welcome from the Chairman of Governors


 Welcome to the All Saints Governors page, we hope that you find it useful to find out more about who we are, and what we do.  If want to know more about us as individuals, do scroll down to the introductions below.


As volunteers who enthusiastically give up our time, we are incredibly proud to be able to support and help our fantastic school, and in particular our excellent Head teacher, Nicky.  We are committed to supporting the school live its core values of Love, Hope and Community and are always keen to engage with the local community; if you feel you could help in some way, please feel free to approach any of us.

Together we can all make this not only a brilliant school, but also a wonderful community.


Alistair Duncan

Chairman of Governors



All Saints C of E Primary School’s Governing Body works as a team with the Headteacher and  school staff to help provide a happy, safe and thriving learning environment and an excellent education for the children at our school.


The Governing Body is a corporate and legal body responsible for the conduct of the school. This includes:


  • Agreeing and supporting the school’s vision, aims, targets and priorities
  • Overseeing the financing of the school
  •  Providing a broad and balanced curriculum in a safe and stimulating environment.


 The Full Governing Body (FGB) meets twice each term to look at the progress of the school and to discuss plans for improvement (using the School Improvement Plan). Every year the FGB has training on a relevant subject or need. Individual members also attend courses throughout the year to support their roles and responsibilities.


There are two committees made up of Governors that also meet six times a year:


  • Curriculum Committee – members help ensure the National Curriculum is implemented at the school, to monitor the school improvement priorities, to call subject managers and leaders to present the curriculum and data and to keep abreast of curriculum developments. They also ensure the correct policies and procedures are followed.
  • Resources Committee - members advise and assist the Headteacher and report to the FGB on matters relating to the provision of resources (premises, staffing, finance, etc) for the school. They also ensure the correct policies and procedures are followed.


Current Governors

Chair: Alistair Duncan
Vice Chair: Mike Griffiths
Headteacher: Nicky Osborne

Samantha Cairns (Foundation Governor)

Katharine Mendelsohn (Local Authority)
Kevin Mahony (Co-opted)
Ann Craig (Co-opted)
Matthew Davis (Co-opted)
Stephen Jarvis (Co-opted)
Anne Silvester (Staff Governor)

Jennifer Plummer (Parent Governor)

Grant Mintram (Foundation Governor)

Clerk to Governing Body
Rebecca Bundock


About our Governors


Alistair Duncan

I have been a parent governor at All Saints since September 2017, and took up the role of Chair in September 2019.  I have lived in Highcliffe since 2012 and I have two daughters at the school.  I work as the Deputy Head Academic at The Pilgrims’ School here in Winchester, which is the choir school for the Cathedral.  I believe strongly in the importance of community links, and see being a governor as a way to ‘give back’, both to the local community which we love so much, but also the school, which has done a terrific job with our girls.  All Saints is a happy and productive school; I am delighted to support it in whatever way I can.


Mike Griffiths

I have been a governor at All Saints Primary school since July 2018 when I was licensed at the Vicar here in Highcliffe.  I play an active role in the life of the school and help out whenever I can.  I love working with the children in our weekly Collective Worship sessions and enjoy the opportunities to help out in the classrooms when possible.  I also enjoy being able to join with school trips when possible.  I take my responsibility to offer pastoral support to the whole school (staff and pupils) seriously and see this as a key part of my role as governor.


Samantha Cairns

I am a member of All Saints Church and have lived in Highcliffe since 2013. I've worked in the arts and heritage sector for 20 years including in education roles at Imperial War Museums and the Wellcome Trust, and was Project Director for Phase 1 of the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation (UK Branch) Inquiry into the Civic Role of Arts Organisations. Currently I'm Co-Director of the Cultural Learning Alliance, a member of the Artsmark assessment Panel and a National Lottery Heritage Fund mentor.



Matthew Davis

I've been a governor at All Saints for just over a year after moving to Highcliffe in summer 2018 with my family. I have a daughter currently at the school and a son who completed Year 6 and is now in secondary school. I joined the governing body because I'm a firm believer in the power of a good education and wanted to do my bit to help support the school community. I've worked as a journalist for BBC News for many years, as a reporter, producer and editor for online, TV and radio.


Jennifer Plummer

I have two boys at All Saints school and became a parent governor at the end of 2019. I work as a corporate tax advisor for an accountancy firm and use my financial skills to help the school. I also volunteer for EBP South, helping schools build links with business and young people learn more about jobs and careers. 

Welcome to our Governors' section